Since starting my research in 2009 I have collected so much information, stored it on my tree in Ancestry and hate how my ancestors lives are just dates.  I’m not organised in my research and jump from person to person; my notes are all over the place and I always think I”ll remember the sources, but invariably never do.

So today I decided to keep a blog of my discoveries in which I will attempt to be structured and organised and at the same time improve my writing skills.  May be in a 100 years from now a future descendant may get the bug and come across this blog.

The first lines I started researching were Baird from Montrose, Angus, Scotland and the McTavish and McFadyen families from the Isle of Mull.  Early last year I started on my mother’s line, Dowse from Bury, St Edmunds and Trezise from St Just in Cornwall.Along the way I have discovered – prostitution; suicide; fraud and imprisonment, learnt about the Methodist faith; the goldfields of Bendigo and Kalgoorlie; read in depth about the Anzacs in Gallipoli and the battle on the Western Front in the Great War and anguished over infant deaths in the slums of Glasgow.

